A fixed Idea – The most dangerous stiod of all

23 May

Yesterday a friend sent me an advertising video I liked so much. I really wanted to share it here in the blog. As it is in Portuguese I got the stiod of subtitling it myself. That drowned into me as one of this killing idea-worm. Because I could not sleep since then, It reminded me one of the best Brazilian writers and decided sharing  it all – Machado de Assis is the writer.

I realized now that one idea I had saved in my drafts folder is just similar to his what made me a bit alarmed. First, I am introducing you Bras Cubas. He is a dead writer that decides writing about his life. And his causa mortis was pneumonia. But this pneumonia was triggered by an idea. A fixed Idea Bras Cubas would not give up – inventing an ointment that was responsible to work against melancholy. Only putting it would take away your sorrow, depression etc. – Perhaps a less harmful version of Prozac and the likes.

Asphodelus albus

Asphodelus albus (Photo credit: z_aurelie)

Some weeks ago I read about a flower called Asphodelus – in mythology this plant is considered to have strong bounds to underworld. It might be due to its long roots.  Many Greeks were interested in this flower, that becomes so gloomy in the end of Autumn and beginning of winter. But they were not the only ones. Poets (specially those writing and living the Spleen). Wirginia Woolf wrote about how this flower works:

But some were early infected by a germ said to be bred of the pollen of the asphodel and to be blown out of Greece and Italy, which was of so deadly a nature that it would shake the hand as it was raised to strike, and cloud the eye as it sought its prey, and make the tongue stammer as it declared its love.

I wondered if there was possibility of creating an incense from asphodel and using its the power of triggering the spleen (“splénétique”) state so that one could write and write and write. One would enter in such a “Byron” state of mind that would create the most passionate poems while the sadness and melancholy lasted in ones body.

I gave up the Idea before I entered myself into this incomprehensible feelings of sadness myself. And now am I waiting till the other fixed Idea takes its way to makeability.

Don't miss commenting!

