Books with your favorite screenplays

12 May

Oh, please, don’t name me nerd because I like to read, will you?

Thing is I love reading. I love some series.  And I don’t like watching old episodes of my series as much as I like to read (see, I still see repeatedly my favorite episodes). I’d rather read a good screenplay – or a play –  in my bad or sofa, rest my mind up and read a cool book. That cool book could be easily a screenplay of my favorite series (Friends, Touch, The Big Bang Theory).

I mean, instead of these guys trying to sell their DVDs, why not selling a book, with the screenplay, a good layout and comfortable type? I never bought a Season DVD box, but I’d buy any screenplay book of my favorite films and series. How many times have I read Tenessee Wiliinams’ Summer and SmokeClothes for a Summer Hotel etc. Chico Buarque’s Calabar, Opera do Malandro, Shakespeare, Sofocles’s Oedipus the king etc.? I can’t tell.

But I can tell how I would enjoy reading a great sitcom screen play – an example: Bolaños’ book El Chavo del Ocho is my favorite reading (after Garry Larson’s The Far Side) when I need some laughing. Why not the other sitcoms? I mean, reading scripts may be so amusing to readers, though challenging to directors since every reader has in their own mind how the story would be played – so what don’t we have the right of our own imagination?

 

4 Responses to “Books with your favorite screenplays”

  1. Maaja May 13, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Hi. I don’t think you really mean these ideas are stupid…. You’re really just too modest!

    • no tail nor flies May 13, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

      I’m glad you appreciate them. Sometimes they sound quite obvious to me. 😀

      Thanks for passing by!

  2. schannepj May 14, 2012 at 12:55 am #

    Thanks for the shout out to my article. There’s a lot of reasons why there’s not more screenplays readily available in print, but the largest is that there’s just not much demand for it. But maybe people like you can change that!

    Thanks for reading,
    James

Don't miss commenting!

