Zoolinguistics Research

4 May


Cats Eyes

 “The cat lives alone, has no need of society, obeys only when she pleases, pretends to sleep that she may see more clearly, and scratches everything on which she can lay her paw.”

 Chateaubriand

I have never seen a discipline like that in the schools I studied and had contacts with. The name does not figure out in dictionaries what tells me it is not common just as I have been thinking. But there were linguists who studied the communication system of animals. I had even had a professor who claims her dogs talk to her.

The fact is that observing my cat sounds I figured out he has many different sounds, only one of them I can imitate. And he understands. As well as he “understands” Husband question if his food is good. Ok crazy, you think. No problem.

Cat Conspiracy

Cat Conspiracy (credit: Tjflex2)

Things in science is like that – trial and error. My stiod now is having a study in order to interpret cats’ mood or intentions in their meowing. Something that tells us if the cat is happy, unhappy, hunting (that I and Husband can understand from Pip, but not reproducing, it’s like he barks). No, I don’t mean cats have the same ability of as human or  language learning as chimps.

But animals might have their own communication system and people could just study that – why not? It’s just recording them a whole time in their natural habitat. For some hours. And then describing. Wanna help with the project write or skype me.

2 Responses to “Zoolinguistics Research”

  1. Susan Wingate May 4, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    Thank you for the link to my blog! from, She Who Lives with (too) Many Cats, Susan. 🙂

Don't miss commenting!

