Stiod Derived: Proper Motivation for losing weight

3 May

Many people like to read self help texts. That is not I am against them, I simply can’t read more than the intro of them. But today I was reading around and found out this post (Proper Motivation) and its title gave the idea of some kind of self help, but promised a bit more. And it did it, I think.

So, the blogger suggest using visuals to help you to get motivated – and she does some concrete visual aids as well:

 I go to the store and try on a bunch of cute outfits that work for me. I pick one that I just truly think is great and buy it one size or two sizes smaller. Then when I get home, I hang it on the wall so I see it every day. I keep working so I can get into that outfit. Or, there is a pair of designer jeans I really really want. (…) So I printed off a picture of the jeans and decided when I get to my goal weight, I’m going to buy them.

I like the idea because it is not much than setting up goals to yourself. You can harden your goals according to your will and it shouldn’t harm yourself while seeking them.


It is worth saying that people have different ways of apprehending information: some are visual, some are auditory and some are kinesthetic (movement) – so you might pick the  motivation that fits you:

One thing I just thought might be a (hard) visual aid is a magnet on the door of my fridge with my current sizes. It sure will make me think twice when I want to eat candies. That is not precisely the optimistic way she found to get motivated, you can have your goal sizes instead 😀  – and are you as greedy as me, you shall agree that it is cheaper than buying some small clothes or an alternative to it.

If you are auditory person you can record someone that says you look good and smaller and use this as your alarm clock jingle (not as ringtone so you don’t scare people around).

For those who are kinesthetic and feel comfortable with moves spaces, my stiod is challenging yourself a long staircase walk. Sure you will feel how it looks like being out of shape ;).

I’ll come up with more stiods about that. You can help out, below in the comments section.

2 Responses to “Stiod Derived: Proper Motivation for losing weight”

  1. theBarefoot May 3, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    I loathe the phrase “self help…” If someone else wrote it, it’s just regular help. For it to be self help, you have to write it yourself. Just a minor peeve that means nothing.

    • no tail nor flies May 3, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

      I totally agree with you! I get angry when someone says “it’s all inside you” and “I want to put it all there” things like that.
      Thanks for commenting!

Don't miss commenting!

